International Virtual Conference

Academic Collaborators

Supporting Partners

27 - 29 August 2020


27 August

Media Meet 2020 | Media Literacy | International Virtual Conference

28 August

Media Meet 2020 | Media Literacy | International Virtual Conference

29 August

Media Meet 2020 | Media Literacy | International Virtual Conference

Feedback forms - Media Meet 2020


MEDIA MEET, the annual conference of the Department of Media Studies, CHRIST (Deemed to be University) Bangalore, India is back with its 11th edition themed, “Media Literacy”. This platform will allow students to gain insight and knowledge from renowned academicians, researchers, and practitioners on Media Literacy. Media Meet creates a forum to share ideas and opinions on topics surrounding the field of “media”. Students are provided with a platform to interact with renowned academicians and media professionals/experts in the industry that could help prepare and shape their future careers. The Covid-19 Pandemic has increased the distribution of misinformation through various media channels. In such a scenario, knowledge regarding “Media Literacy” helps to critically analyse the information being presented to us by questioning its credibility. Therefore, it is vital to tackle the topic of Media Literacy, especially in the current times to abolish the concept of “infodemic” - a term coined by the Director General of the WHO.


“Media Literacy”, the theme for this year’s Media Meet, is the ability to identify different forms of media and critically analyse as well as interpret the messages that are being sent by them. Media literacy is an essential element that is needed to be developed effectively in order to keep up with the changing media culture. It is necessary that we control the interpretation of what we see and not the other way around. This element allows us to develop “critical autonomy” or the ability to think for oneself, which is a fundamental quality needed for a democratic society to function effectively. In the current era of citizen journalism and an explosive social media culture, media literacy is a compulsory skill that we all need to develop in order to steer clear of political persuasions and fake news. It guards us from being controlled by the media we use and helps us in forming informed and accurate opinions from information being provided to us.

Media Meet 2020 is proud to collaborate with Griffith University and Florida State University College of Communication and Information, and partner with People's Archive for Rural India and GAPMIL to host a first-ever International Virtual Conference this year.

To see the Paper Presentations of Media Meet 2020

Carousel imageCarousel imageCarousel image


We live in an information age, amid the wealth of media on the one hand, and information overload on the other. Being constantly bombarded by texts, images, videos, wikis, and more has posed us with the challenge of navigating our mediated worlds and coping with the changing demands of our social lives. Yet, seldom do we think about the processes of such information production, consumption, and their implications.

At this critical juncture of the information society, being literate about the processes that drive content and news generation becomes vital. Media literacy is concerned with helping society develop an informed and critical understanding of the nature of media, the techniques used, and the impact of these techniques. Further, it is the education that aims to increase the society’s understanding and experience of how media work, produce meaning, organize and construct reality. Media Literacy also aims to equip society with both the knowledge and the skills required to transcend citizens from mere consumers to prosumers of media.

Media literacy is conceptualized as a broad canvas that accommodates all aspects of the media domain – Journalism, Advertising, Public Relations, Integrated Marketing Communication, Films, TV Series, Reality Shows, Music Production, Radio and Podcasts, Social Media Content, Digital Design, Video Games, Virtual Reality, Artificial Intelligence, Theatre, Audience Studies, Media Education etc.

The only way to ensure that we become responsible citizens of democracies functioning within an interconnected world is by ensuring not only freedom of expression and freedom of information, but also the freedom to understand how information is procured, processed and delivered; and equip ourselves with the skills required to critically evaluate, comprehend and consume the flood of media messages. Media literacy aims to create an informed citizenry capable of deliberating and exercising their agency and produce a media ecosystem that is based on ethics, assures plurality of voices, and thereby facilitates a vibrant democracy. The seminar, while retaining its egalitarian ideals, also hopes to take stock of the critical tension in trying to box the audience into slots like ‘vulnerable’, ‘ignorant’, ‘passive’, ‘critical’, ‘resistant’ etc., and lend space to explore more fissures to be opened up in the Media Literacy project.

Keeping in line with one of UNESCO’s Sustainable Development Goals of building competencies among citizens of the world in Media, Information and Digital Literacy, the Department of Media Studies, CHRIST (Deemed to be University), Bangalore, aims to use the MEDIA MEET 2020 conference to influence society to understand the importance of media literacy and adopt it in our everyday lives in the era of post-truth.